TCC releases 2019 cross country schedule

Kendall Ward
Kendall Ward

2019 Cross Country Schedule

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (July 19, 2019) — Tallahassee Community College released its 2019 cross country schedule on Friday, six weeks out from the start of the Eagles' fourth season on the trails. 

Both the men's and women's teams will open the 2019 season on Saturday, August 31 at the Panhandle Cross Country Challenge, hosted by Arnold High School in Panama City, Fla. 

The month of September will feature three events, beginning with Valdosta State University Border Clash on September 6. The team will return home for the TCC Eagle Invite on Friday, September 13 at famed Apalachee Regional Park (ARP) and wrap up the month with the Willie Laster Cross Country Invitational on September 28 at Albany State University. 

Tallahassee will return home for the month of October starting with the FSU Invitational on Friday, October 11 followed by the beginning of the Championship portion of the schedule – the NJCAA Region 8/FCSAA State Cross Country Championships on Friday, October 25. Both events will take place at the ARP. 

"The schedule offers our team great opportunities to test themselves against regional foes, and a chance to gain experience on the famed Apalachee Regional Park (ARP) course," said head coach Gary Droze. "By racing at the ARP prior to our state championship meet at the same site, our athletes will get a boost in confidence that comes from learning a cross-country course."

The Championship season continues with the NJCAA Division I Cross Country Championships, November 9 in Albuquerque, N.M., followed by the NJCAA Half Marathon Championships on November 23 in El Paso, Texas. 

Continuing a trend that began when the Eagles launched women's cross country in 2016 – at the time, just the fourth school to offer the sport – participation is on the rise once again in Region 8. Pensacola State College now offers women's cross country while Lake-Sumter State College will field both genders, bringing the totals to five men's and 10 women's teams.