#TCCBasketball: Quartet of Eagles land first-team All-PC honors

Panhandle Conference Logo

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (March 6, 2018) – Tallahassee Community College placed a total of seven players – four men and three women – on the 2018 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference basketball teams. 

Of the seven selections, four were named First-team All-PC – women’s players Japonica James and Nakiah Black and men’s players Javien Williams and Corey Douglas. 

James, a sophomore from Mobile, Ala., has averaged 18.1 points, 7.8 rebounds and 1.7 assists through 28 games. Her .602 field goal percentage ranks third in the PC and she leads the conference in field goals (192) and free throws made (123). Last month, she became just the third female player in school career to join the 1,000 Point Club. 

Black, a native of Concord, N.C., has enjoyed a stellar freshman campaign after missing all of 2016-17 due to an injury. In 22 games, she has averaged 13.5 points, 3.2 rebounds and 2.2 assists. She came up especially big in last Tuesday’s playoff win vs. Northwest Florida State College, scoring 23 points. 

Williams, a sophomore from Birmingham, Ala., averaged 16.8 points, 5.1 rebounds and 1.6 assists in 27 games. He finished the season ranked third in the PC in scoring. 

Douglas, a sophomore from Louisville, Ky., led the PC in rebounds (7.9 rpg) and blocks (2.7 bpg). He also averaged 13.3 points and 1.0 assist in 26 games. 

Three other Eagles – women’s player Juliunn Redmond and men’s players Leon Freeman-Daniels and Jaquan Morris – earned second-team all-PC honors. 

Redmond, a freshman from Chicago, Ill., has averaged 8.7 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.4 assists in 28 games. Her biggest moment came in the regular season finale when her last second shot beat Pensacola State College and kept the Eagles’ postseason hopes alive. 

Freeman-Daniels, a sophomore from Atlantic City, N.J., averaged 12.0 points, 6.9 rebounds and 2.1 assists in 26 games. 

Morris, a freshman from Suwanee, Ga., averaged 9.6 points, 1.8 rebounds and 0.4 assists while shooting .403 from the three-point line. 

The recipient of the Eddie Barnes Panhandle Conference Coach of the Year Award is Northwest Florida State’s Steve DeMeo. The men’s coach of the year award is named in honor of former Tallahassee head coach Eddie Barnes, who retired from coaching at the end of the 2014-15 season. 

Barnes, who coached at Tallahassee from 2001-15, won 274 games and NJCAA District/FCSAA State Championships in 2006 and 2011.  

2018 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Men’s Basketball Team


Andres Feliz, Northwest Florida State; Tray Boyd, Northwest Florida State; Will Robinson, Gulf Coast State; Brandon Mahan, Chipola; Shamarkus Kennedy, Chipola; Derek Funderburk, Northwest Florida State; Javien Williams, Tallahassee; Willesley Butler, Pensacola State; Chris Duarte, Northwest Florida State; T.J. Howard, Chipola; Corey Douglas, Tallahassee; Quadree Smith, Gulf Coast State


Leon Freeman-Daniels, Tallahassee; Karim Ezzeddine, Northwest Florida State; Yuat Alok, Chipola; Gerald Williams, Pensacola State; Yeikson Montero, Pensacola State; C.J. Williamson, Chipola; Kelvin Robinson, Northwest Florida State; Daryl Lewis, Pensacola State; JaQuan Morris, Tallahassee; Myles McGregor, Gulf Coast State; Daniel Kiely, Gulf Coast State; Keishawn Brewton, Chipola

Player of the Year: Andres Feliz, Northwest Florida State
Newcomer of the Year: Tray Boyd, Northwest Florida State
Freshman of the Year: Brandon Mahan, Chipola
Eddie Barnes Coach of the Year Award: Steve DeMeo, Northwest Florida State

2018 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Women’s Basketball Team


Shayla Bennett, Gulf Coast State; Japonica James, Tallahassee; Jhileiya Dunlap, Gulf Coast State; Courtajia Sanders, Chipola; Trinity Baptiste, Northwest Florida State; Valerie Nesbitt, Chipola; Georgia Gayle, Northwest Florida State; Nakiah Black, Tallahassee; Nia Johnson, Pensacola State; Jade Lewis, Northwest Florida State; Naterria Luster, Pensacola State; Astou Gaye, Gulf Coast State


Juliunn Redmond, Tallahassee; Angela Jernigan, Northwest Florida State; Namiko Adams, Chipola; Ta'Sheanne Armstrong, Pensacola State; Mylashia Yancey, Pensacola State; Ahyiona Vason, Pensacola State; Tyra Johnson, Chipola

Player of the Year: Shayla Bennett, Gulf Coast State
Freshman of the Year: Cortajia Sanders, Chipola
Coach of the Year: Roonie Scovel, Gulf Coast State